qertcancer.blogg.se

Spider web making arachnophilia
Spider web making arachnophilia








spider web making arachnophilia

I can barely even recognize the person who did all that now. During development I also took my first solo backpacking trip (which was a colossal failure) and had to rush the game out before a couple of friends and I took off for a road trip to Alaska.

#Spider web making arachnophilia free#

In addition to working a part time job and doing research in a lab at Berkeley, I spent all my free time working on this game. Looking back, I have no idea how I did it. I built Arachnophilia in an amazingly fast six months. I’ve always been inspired by themes from nature, and this fit that pattern perfectly.Īdditionally, fresh out of undergrad and getting ready for grad school, I was excited to build a game around the graph data structure, still one of my favorites. It seemed like a theme that hadn’t been explored before but that most people would be able to intuitively grasp and enjoy. The inspiration for the game came from the idea that it would be fun to create a web structure using simple physics. The trick worked! I was motivated to get my applications in, then immediately started working on the game. I took some notes, started getting excited, then put it aside, promising myself I wouldn’t actually develop the game until I got my applications in. I came up with the idea one night when I was putting off applying for grad school. The first game I released was Arachnophilia, a spider web simulation game. Play Arachnophilia (mouse or touch screen strongly recommended). I hope some of you will play or replay those games one more time before they’re lost from this world, likely forever.

spider web making arachnophilia

With Adobe ending support of Flash at the end of this year, I decided it was time to take a moment to look back on this stage of my life and the games I created during it. Back then I basically did it all: design, programming, and even art, for better or worse. But I actually got my start making small Flash games. Most of you probably know me as a board game designer.










Spider web making arachnophilia